Working with Tasks

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  Client Manual > Features > Task Management >

Working with Tasks

This section covers the basics for how to work with tasks.

 

A list of all tasks assigned to a user is accessible from the Docsvault's Task Manager by selecting Tools > Tasks menu option. This task list shows all active and completed tasks assigned or delegated to the user. Tasks the user has previously completed and filed away are not shown in the task list.

 

This chapter covers:

 

Editing Task

Forward a Task to another user

Mark a Task as Done

Mark a Task as Pending

Deleting Task

Export Task List  

 

Editing a task

 

An existing task in the Task Manager can be modified by the following steps:

 
 

Click on the Edit icon from the toolbar Or

 
  Right click on a task to get the popup menu. From the popup menu select Edit.

 

After the editing is finished, click on Save button to save the changes.

 

 

note Note:

You can also open the task directly for editing from the popup task alert.

 

If a task is marked 'Done', it cannot be edited. To edit, change its status to pending first.

 

 

 

Forward a Task to another user

Task could be forwarded to another user in case of one of the following:

 

oThe assignee is either too busy or unavailable for work.

oThe task has been wrongly assigned or

oIn case of normal work route.

 

Forwarding a Task is a critical component of any task flow system in order to continue to flow.  

 

To forward a task simply double click on the select the task you wish to forward from your task list.

 

In Next Action section, select the checkbox next to Forward to, select a new user to receive this task from a list of users that are able to access to the document that the task is associated with. Once the task has been forwarded to the new user, he will be notified of the new task.

 

taskedit01

Forward a task

 

Mark a Task as Completed

A task once accomplished can be marked completed by one of the following ways. This will display the task in grey color and shift it to the end of the 'Task list'

 

In the Task Manager, click on  Mark Completed icon from the toolbar after selecting the task from the task list Or

Right click on a task to get the popup menu. From the popup menu select Mark Completed Or

Double click on the select the task you wish to mark it as completed and in the Next Action section, select the checkbox next to Mark as Completed.

 

All the actions performed on the task will be recorded and displayed in Notes and Events section as show in above image.

 

Mark a task as Pending

In case you have marked an unaccomplished task as Done, it can be changed back to 'Pending' status.

For this first select the concerned task from the 'Task list' and follow one of the several methods as mentioned below:

In the Task Manager, click on Mark Pending icon from the toolbar after selecting the task from the "task list" Or

Select the task from the task list and right click over it. From the popped up menu click Mark Pending Or

From the Edit Task dialog clear the 'Done' check box

 

Deleting a selected Task

A task can be deleted by any of the following methods:

In the Task Manager, click on Delete icon from the toolbar after selecting the task from the task list Or

Right click over the selected task, and from the popped up menu click Delete.

 

Export Task List

You can export task lists in csv, pdf, xls, xlsx and xml formats using the little save icon on the right top corner of the task list.

exportTask