Document Management Software Help : Docsvault

Adding Users using Docsvault  Authentication

Adding Users using Docsvault  Authentication

Previous topic Next topic No directory for this topic  

Adding Users using Docsvault  Authentication

Previous topic Next topic Topic directory requires JavaScript  

Adding Users using Docsvault  Authentication
 
User accounts are created by the admin or members of the administrators group. Your user account is what identifies you both to the system and to other users.

 

A standard Internal user can perform tasks such as creating folders, scanning, checking out documents for edits, creating new versions, etc. A Read-Only user has limited privilege such as listing, preview and reading documents.

 

Adding a new User
 

Select User/Group > User node in Docsvault Server Manager

Click the New button on the User option. The New User  window will appear

User Options:

oRead-Only: This option is selected to create Read-Only user. This type of user can only open and read documents in Docsvault.

oAllow Web Access: Select this option to allow user to access documents via Web Client.

User Profile:

  Authentication: Select Docsvault if the user is added using Docsvault Authentication and Active Directory if the users is added using Active Directory Authentication. Under this topic we will choose Docsvault authentication. For information on Active Directory  authentication, see Adding Users using Active Directory Authentication

Fill up the personal and login information of the user

Groups: From the Groups list, select the Groups you wish to assign to the user

Default System Rights: Assign the default System Rights  to the user

Ownership Override Setting:  By default, any user that imports or creates a file or folder in Docsvault becomes the owner of that document. However in many cases it may be desired that the ownership of such document stays with a higher level user like a manager or an administrator. Using this ownership override feature you can specify a user who will own all documents created by this user. For instance: In the screenshot below, the ownership of file/folder imported by the user 'Jacob' will be owned by the Overriding user 'Jennifer'.

Click on Save button to save this user

 

NewUser

Creating a User

 

note Note:

Admin User & Administrators Group is a default admin user and group and hence cannot be deleted. However, any members of the administrators group can edit the profile of the default admin user (Docsvault Administrator).

 

All administrator group users will have rights to access documents via Web Client.

 

 

 

important Important:

User Name can be alphanumeric and is not case sensitive. Passwords are case sensitive.

Read-Only user can be converted to Standard user at any time but not vice versa.
 

 
Editing a User

Select User/Group > User node in Docsvault Server Manager

Select the User whose profile settings you want to change

Click on Edit button.

The Edit User pop-up window will be displayed

User Options: You can change the user options and status of the user here.  Only users with Active status will be able to login into Docsvault.

If needed click on the Change Password button to change the user password. A Reset Password window will be displayed.

Enter the New password, and then enter the new password again in the Confirm Password field. You can send an email alert to the user at their registered email address by checking the 'Email this
password ....' option.

Click on OK to change the password.

Click on the Save button to update the changes.

 

EditUser

Editing a User

 

 

note Note:

'Reset personalized setting' will reset the personal settings of the user to default. This will reset user's theme, checkout location, export locations, view settings, etc. However no data will be lost.
 

 

Delete a User

 

Select User/Group > User node in Docsvault Server Manager

Click on the User option. This will display a list of existing users

Select the User to delete

Click on the Delete button

After confirmation click on Yes button

 

 

warning Warning:

You must make sure that no changes are made to users and groups while the users are logged into Docsvault.
 

If a user is deleted, Docsvault will warn you if he owns any folder, documents or tasks. All the tasks assigned by the user will also be deleted and the ownership of all his or her files and folders will be assigned to the admin user.
 

If a username is deleted all of its associated rights will be removed. An administrator will not be able to reestablish those permissions by adding the same user again.