Document Management Software Help : Docsvault

Adding and Editing Groups

Adding and Editing Groups

Previous topic Next topic No directory for this topic  

Adding and Editing Groups

Previous topic Next topic Topic directory requires JavaScript  

Creating a Group and adding Users to a new Group

 

Select User/Group > Group node in Docsvault Server Manager

Click the New button on the Group option. The New Group  window will appear.

Enter a name and description for the group.

To add Us ers to the new group, select the user names from the list.

Assign the default Security and Systems rights for the group in the template. For more information, see Security Rights

Click on the Save button to save the new Group.

 

For example:

Let's say you want to assign most of the available folder permissions to a group of users in the 'Accounting' group on the 'Accounts' folder.

 

 

newgroup

Creating a Group

 

 

doc_security Security:

Only the Docsvault admin user or the members of the administrators group can create new groups.

 

 

 

Creating a Read-Only Group and adding Users to the Group

This is applicable for Read-Only user licensing.

 

ReadOnlyGroup

Creating Read-Only Group

 

The creation of Read-Only Group is similar to the normal group. The Default Security rights that can be assigned to this group is still 'Read'. In other words, users of this group can list files/folders; preview the PDF and image files in in the Docsvault Preview Window, and open documents in its associated application in read-only mode. The users of this group will not be able to create or edit documents in the system.

 

 

Editing a Group

 

Select User/Group > Group node in Docsvault Server Manager

Select the Group for editing from the existing list of groups

Click on Edit button

The Edit Group pop-up window will be displayed

Make the necessary changes and

Click on the Save button to update the changes. You will have option to apply the security changes for this Group to the existing files and folder throughout Docsvault repository or simply set this as the default security rights for this Group.
 

Deleting a Group

 

Select User/Group > Group node in Docsvault Server Manager

Select the Group you want to delete.

Click on the Delete button.

On confirmation, click OK button.

 

note Note:

The default security and system rights may differ depending on the Docsvault Edition purchased.

The default security and system rights are just templates and can be changed while assigning group rights to any folder or file. i.e. different folder and files can have different rights for the same group. So also, changing the group rights here will not change the group's rights on folders and files that are already assigned.

 

warning Warning:

When you delete a Group, all that Group's rights are permanently removed from the security table of all Cabinets, folders and files. An administrator will not be able to automatically reestablish those rights by adding the same Group again.