Editing Documents using native applications

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  Client Manual > Features > Working with Documents >

Editing Documents using native applications

Documents stored in Docsvault can be edited in native applications. The Check In - Check Out feature allows you to maintain document integrity by preventing simultaneous edits and overwrites to any document. To make changes to documents, you must first check them out of the document repository to your local computer, make changes then check them back in.

 

This sections covers:

Check Out a document

Check In a document

Request for Check In

Undo Checked out document

Check in someone else' document

 

Check out a document

 

Select the document to be edited.

 

From the File menu, select Check Out           Or

  From the list view panel, right click on the document and click on Check Out   Or

Double click and select Checkout file for editing.

Note: Docsvault will automatically handle Check-out and Check-in of dependent files (e.g dependent resources for .html, .htm and SolidWorks .SLDASM files)

This will check out the document. You can open the document in the associated application for editing or you can choose the appropriate program from the list.

 

noteNote:

You can set to open all the PDF files by default in Docsvault PDF Editor by making changes in Tool >> Options/Check  In/Out.

 

 

CheckOut03

Check Out a document

 

doc_security Security:

To edit a document, you must have at least 'New Version/Check out' rights to the document or be the owner of the document.

 

 

A checked out document has a 'lock' image superimposed over the original icon. A green lock Greem_Lock indicates that the document has been checkout for by the user itself and the red lock Red_Lock indicates that the document has been checked out for editing by another user.

 

noteNote:

Multiple files or folders selected for check out will be opened in its associated application for editing.

 

When a single folder is selected for check out, it will take you to the location where it has been checked out on your local computer.

 

You can open only up to 5 documents in their associated application during check out process. This is to prevent multiple applications opening up at the same time and freezing the computer. All selected documents will be checked out to the check out folder but only the first 5 will be opened in their native applications.

 

While checking out a folder, you have a option to include all files in sub folders to be checked out simultaneously. For more information see Check In / Check Out in 'Options'.

 

You are able to view Docsvault file ID and version number along with the file name in the title bar of MS Office applications.

 

 

Working with checked out document
 

When you are done with editing the document, save the file from the editing application's save option. This will save the changes made in the file in the check out folder on the workstation, and not in the document repository on the server. Your document remains checked out until you check them in manually even if you close the document's editing application.

 

noteNote:

The default path for check out  folder can be set on the client computer from Options. For more information, see 'Check In / Check Out'in 'Options'.

 

 

Check In a document

 

Select the checked out document.

From the File menu, select Check In.        Or

  From the list view panel, right click on the document to display the popup menu.

  From the popup menu, click on Check In.

In Check In window, check the box next to 'Create New Version' if you want to create a new version of the document.

 

Options

Enter the comment in 'Version notes'. (optional)

You also have an option to convert supported file formats to PDF when checking in a document. Check check-box SaveAS PDF.

If you wish to delete the files from checked out folder, click on the check box next to it.(optional)

If you wish to release a new version of this document but continue to work on it, click on the check box labeled
'Keep files checked out'.(optional)

 

CheckIn01

Check In a document

 

Actions

You can add document notes, set or change folder section and document status.

You can even initiate a new workflow while check-in the file.

 

CheckIn02

CheckIn03

Actions

Notifications

 

Notifications

You can notify the file owner and any other Docsvault user when any document is updated. The user receives notification email and alert popup that the change has occurred, who has changed it and the location of the document.

Click OK button to save the changes made in the document to Docsvault.

noteNote:

Checking in a document will release the document 'lock' and will save the changes made in the document.
 

 

You can also save versions of documents in different file formats. Example: A word document can  have a PDF version available to all users and reverted to word format for changes and updates when necessary.

 

 

 

Request for Check In

 

If a document you wish to edit is already checked out by somebody else in the system, you can create a notification task requesting check-in of that document with a single click.

 

Select the checked out file, right click on the file to display the popup menu. From the popup menu, click on Request CheckIn. This will pop up the task out dialog.

request-check-in

Request CheckIn Task

 

Fill up the necessary details and click on Send button.

 

The user will receive notification email and alert popup about the request. This task will also appear in the 'Task In' panel of the user.

request-check-in-alert

Request CheckIn Task

 

Discarding the changes
 

If you do not want to save the changes made in the checked out file, you always have the option to discard them. For this,
 

Select the checked out file

From the File menu, select Undo Check Out Or

  From the list view panel, right click on the file to display the popup menu. From the popup menu,

  click on Undo Check Out. The green lock disappears from the file icon when the file is checked

   back in.

 

noteNote:

The checked out file can not be overwritten by using any copy/paste or drag and drop options until checked in.

 

 

Check in someone else' document

 

Normally your users will check documents in and out in a responsible manner. However, if someone checks out a document and leaves the company or goes on vacation, it can block other users to work on those files. If you have 'Undo Checkout' rights, you can check a file back in that was checked out by someone else. To do that, follow these steps:
 

Select the checked out file

From the File menu, select Undo Check Out Or

  From the list view panel, right click on the file and click on Undo Check Out. This will release the

  document and check it in.