Document Management Software Help : Docsvault

Version History

Version History

Previous topic Next topic No directory for this topic  

Version History

Previous topic Next topic Topic directory requires JavaScript  

Version History

A file version system, conceptually is similar to a periodic backup. One of the most common problems encountered in organizations with large numbers of documents is that of version control. In a scenario, where multiple people are all working on a document at the same time the difficulty arises, when they all try to save their changes. Under such a circumstance file versioning comes to the rescue.

 

Docsvault Version features automatically ensures that no document is over written. When you make changes to a document, Docsvault will save those changes with the time, date and the owner of the edited copy as a 'Version Owner'.  You can easily roll back to previous version as required. You can view the list of versions of that document using Version History from View menu.

 

File versioning is a technique to archive document contents at different stages of development i.e every time when a document is checked out, edited and checked back in.

 

When you open a document, Docsvault will always display the latest version of that document making it almost impossible to accidentally work with an older copy. This feature allows you to revert back to older versions in case undesirable changes have been made to your documents.

 

List of all the created file versions can be viewed from Version History dialog box. In addition to this, various version operations can be done from this dialog box. You can open and delete older version files, edit version notes and convert an older version file to current version. Shown below is Version History dialog box.

 

doc_security Security:

A user with 'New Version/Check out' rights or an Administrator can create a new version of a document.

 

 

VersionHistory02

Version History

 

 

To get the Version History dialog box, select a file from Docsvault explorer:

 

From the View menu, click on Version History Or

Right click on selected file. From the popup menu click on Version History Or

Click on the Version tab at the bottom panel

 

Opening a version file
 

Select a version file from the list.

Right click to get the popup menu. From the popup menu, click on View Or

  Press Enter key from the keyboard after selecting a row.

 

Converting older version to current version

 

Select an older version file from the list.

Right click to get the popup menu. From the popup menu, click on Make Current.

This will create a copy of the same file and assign it the most recent version.

 

Editing version notes

Users with 'New Version/Check out'  rights can edit the version notes of a file.
 

Select a version file from the list.

Right click to get the popup menu. From the popup menu, click on Edit Version Note.

The Version Notes column becomes editable. Edit the note and press Enter key.

 

note Note:

Version Notes of most recent version file can also be updated from Properties dialog box. For this, right click on the file from the Docsvault Explorer and click on Properties from the popup menu that is displayed. You can see the Version Notes at the bottom of the Properties dialog box. After editing click on OK.

 

 

Share version file using Share Link

You can create “Shared Links” for any version of a document in addition to the most current version. Only users with system rights of  'Create Public link' can create and share file links.

 

Right-click on the file version to open its context menu and select Share > Create Public Link

In the share dialog that open up, copy the unique URL to be sent to others.

Depending on how secure you want to keep a link, you can set a password and expiry date for the share link created.

You can also edit or delete a link by right clicking on the file version and selecting the respective option.

 

Export version file using Quick Email

Docsvault allows you to email documents from previous versions via Quick Email feature.

 

Right-click on the file version to open its context menu and select Quick Email. File will be attached to a new email with version number appended at the end of the file name.

 

Note: You can enable the option of automatic appending of version numbers to documents being exported in the Docsvault Server Manager dialog.

 

 

Deleting version file

Prior versions of files can be deleted only from the Version History dialog box.
 

Open the Version History dialog box.

Select a version row from the list.

Right click to get the popup menu. From the popup menu, click on Delete.

 

note Note

Current version file cannot be deleted from this Version History dialog box. However users with 'Overwrite/Delete' rights to the file can delete it from the list view of main window. All versions of the file will be deleted and placed in the Docsvault recycle bin. Restoring files with versions also restores their previous versions.